Toddler Poop And The Joys Of Parenting

This is Brad, our second-born.  He’s two years old.  Last week I started potty training him and overall, it’s going splendidly.  He seems to have already grasped the concept of going to the bathroom to pee; pooping, however, is taking a little more time.  Aside from one poop accident (in a diaper, during nap time) he has withheld his poop since potty training began.  I knew that EVENTUALLY he would have to poop – after all, what were the odds of him being like his older brother Deuce, whose anal sphincter muscles apparently are so strong that he can hold his poop FOR DAYS despite having ingested an extra-large laxative dose?  (Thank God we’re past that phase with Deuce.)  Well, today was D-Day (or P-Day, whatever) for Brad.

After having two minor accidents on the floor today (not a big deal) it finally clicked that he had to poop on the potty.  So when the time came he proudly announced that he had to go to the potty.  Splendid!  But boy, was I not ready for what happened next.  Not.  Ready.  At.  All.

What is it about toddlers seeing their poop in the toilet that’s so scary?  Things were going well – I was sitting on the floor in front of Brad, while he sat on the toilet.  I was speaking to him softly, gently encouraging him to go, letting him know that is was okay to go…So trusting me, he decided to let loose.  After he evacuated he looked down into the toilet and saw his poop.  Then he freaked out.  I mean, he FREAKED THE F**K OUT.  He leapt off the toilet, screaming, into my surprised and stunned arms, which wouldn’t have been so bad if I would have been able to wipe him before he got up.

He got poop all over me.  My arms, my lap, my legs, my stomach…Please, someone GAG ME WITH A SPOON.  That is, if you’re not gagging yourself.

With his big brown eyes he looked up at me and said “I don’t want to boo boo anymore mommy.”  How could I deny him?  He was shook with fear, literally shaking in my lap.  I calmed him down and explained that everything was okay and that he did a GOOD THING by pooping in the toilet.  After about five minutes of positive reinforcement, my little trooper got back up on the toilet and finished going to the bathroom!  He didn’t have to do anything else, but I praised him for overcoming his fear and at least trying.

(Insert Parent Of The Year Award HERE, please and thank you)

So hopefully going forward, it will be easier to get him to go on the toilet, without fear.  I hope that today’s scare isn’t a setback, but the fact that he got back on the toilet and tried again is encouraging.

Do you have any entertaining potty training stories?  How did you deal with a toddler who was reluctant to use the toilet?  How do you clean poop out of cashmere?  Let me know by leaving a comment below!

(I’m totally joking about the cashmere, lol)

Categories: Babies/Kids, Parenting, Surely You Jest! | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Toddler Poop And The Joys Of Parenting

  1. Very funny! I also have a poop-related kid story in my Motherhood Manual series this week. It will post on Monday. If you want to check out the series, you can do so here-
    http://twyste.com/category/the-motherhood-manual/

  2. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  3. Very intreresting blog. It was very relavant. I was looking exaxtly for this. Thank you for your effort. I hope you will write more such useful posts.

  4. That is so funny to me that he freaked out at the sign of his own poop. I’ve never heard of that before. Really sucky that you got poop all over you… I’ve experienced some interesting poop situations too with my two yr old nephew, and I used to be a caretaker… poop is gross. let’s just put it that way! lol!

    ~LIsha

  5. Great! Loved your story. And you do deserve a parenting award for you patience in dealing with a poopy two-year old!

Respond to this Fantastic post!

Blog at WordPress.com.

