Getting Ready For Back-To-School

Well, today starts the back-to-school routine.  Deuceatron starts school next month, and after a summer of sleeping in late and going to bed even later we’re going to have to get him used to waking up early again.

Deuce is sleeping GOOD. You can see his drool and everything.

Now as a parent, I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy waking the kids up early.  I guess that’s the sinister parent in me coming out.  Whenever I have to wake the kids up early a little part of me inside squeals with delight because I know that an early wake up = early bedtime = HAPPY PARENTS.  Yeah, we’ve got to work a bit harder to keep the kids entertained and busy, and yeah, they can get a little whiny and bratty after an early wake up, but the silence of a quiet house with peacefully sleeping kids in the early evening is PRICELESS.

I’d also be lying if I said that I’m bright eyed and bushy tailed right now.  I’m tired as H-E-double hockey sticks because I, like the kids, have been staying up late and sleeping in late too.  I’m seriously in need of coffee and I’m dragging butt around here.  But at least that’s better than my better half.  He hasn’t even made it out of the bed yet.  And I thought we were a team.  Hmph.

Like father, like son. I guess.

This day should be interesting.  With groggy parents and whiny kiddos, who knows what’s bound to happen.

Does your household usually follow a routine that gets lax during the summertime?  How do you get back on track?  Let me know, leave a comment below!

I also found an article on The Huffington Post‘s website about this very topic!

Categories: Babies/Kids, Parenting | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Respond to this Fantastic post!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

