The Next Upgrade For Tanning In The 21st Century?

Shut.  The.  Front.  Door.  I’m just now hearing about (what I think might be) the newest thing to knock tanning beds OFF THE MARKET!  And unlike tanning beds, which can cause cancer and premature skin aging, this miracle treatment purportedly promotes circulation, improves the appearance of fine lines and stretch marks, heals wounds and improves symptoms related to arthritis, acne, and various aches and pains.  It even helps cancer patients!  I’ll bet you’re on the edge of your chair (or yoga ball), brimming with anticipation, waiting for me to tell you what this miracle treatment is –

It’s Red Light Therapy.

Photo source

We already use LEDs in may everyday items like digital clocks, TV’s, and car headlights.  Red Light Therapy began as NASA’s study into light emitting diodes, or LEDs, for plant growth in space.  “Researchers discovered that the diodes also had many promising medical applications, prompting this research to be funded by a NASA Small Business Innovation Research contract…Biologists have found that cells exposed to near-infrared light — that is, energy just outside the visible range — from LEDs grow 150 to 200 percent faster than those cells not stimulated by such light. The light arrays increase energy inside cells that speed up the healing process.”  And while research into Red Light Therapy is still in it’s fledgling stage, it already seems to be yielding promising results in many areas.

The only reason I found out about this therapy is because I was looking at Planet Fitness‘ website.  Some church friends of mine bought memberships there and out of curiosity I navigated over to their site to see what made them so special.  While reading about the benefits of having a Planet Fitness Black Card, I came across a perk that they call “Total Body Enhancement”, which apparently is a like a Red Light Therapy “stand-up tanning machine” of sorts whose floor “vibrates at different intensities” while you stand there soaking up the red light and calming music.  I also read about their Lunk Alarm, which in itself seems like an obnoxiously stupid idea, especially when you hear how loud it is, but I’ll save that for another post.

In all, it seems like Red Light Therapy is yielding some promising results.  And it’s about time; we need something to replace the tanning beds of the 90’s with something fresh, hip and healthy!

Had you ever heard of Red Light Therapy before?  Have you tried it?  What did you think?  Let me know, leave a comment below!

Categories: Interesting Finds | Tags: , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “The Next Upgrade For Tanning In The 21st Century?

  1. MJ Jovenall

    I was skeptical at first of what people were saying the Total Body Enhancement (red light therapy) could do… so I tried it to see for myself… 3 days a week each session 12 mins…going on week 8…my thoughts on this machine, I have noticed a difference in cellulite reduction & an overall tightening & firming of my entire body…after each session I also notice I sweat twice as much during my workouts.

  2. Nichole

    I belong to planet fitness and I have been doing the total body enhancement I was pretty skeptical but I’ve been doing it for 2 weeks and I’ve noticed the scars on my face from acne have faded somewhat I’m not sure about the toning and firming but time will tell

  3. Thanks for finally writing about >The Next Upgrade For Tanning
    In The 21st Century? | The Fantastic Voyage <Loved it!

  4. Treasure

    Yes!! I use it every day. I have a 2 year old little boy, while I love him, i hate what the pregnancy did to my body. Stretch marks, on my stomach, down my legs, breasts, and butt. I have tried every cream out there, but still i had these nasty stretch marks. I lost all of my baby weight, im back in a size 3, but these stretch marks would not fade. Finally, i started using Planet Fitness Total Body Enhancement, in 5 visits, 12 minutes each, you cant even see the stretch marks anymore. Amazing!! I highly reccomend it to anyone!!

    • Thanks for the feedback!

      So is the Red Light therapy something that must be ongoing or can you stop now that you’ve achieved the results you wanted?

Respond to this Fantastic post!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

