How Do You Become A Morning Person?

Not A Morning Person

Not A Morning Person (Photo credit: Pink Sherbet Photography)

Apparently I am not a morning person.

I am a night owl, but I think I became that way out of necessity years (and years) ago and just never broke that trend.  In retrospect, since becoming a wife and mother I don’t know how I’ve functioned on such little sleep.  Well being a night owl is causing me to burn my candle at both ends.  I wake up early for the children and stay up waaay late into the night finishing housework, nurfing the set, or just generally pussyfooting around.  I get about 4 hours of sleep on average every night.  But I guess on some level I do it to myself.

I want to become a morning person but in my mind that means I would have to wake up at like 5AM and be in bed by 10PM at the absolute latest, and that is just unfathomable to me.  I know that sounds stupid, right?  “Pffft,” I think to myself.  “Who keeps a schedule like that?”

Uhh, everybody.  All the responsible people I know, anyway.

I’m not saying that to imply that I’m irresponsible but I think that keeping a schedule like that would have to be strictly enforced, in order for my family’s dynamic to stay running smoothly.  Do I have what it takes to keep myself disciplined enough to keep that schedule?  How would I make the  change, gradually or overnight?

I think I’m scared that a dramatic change like this for me would throw things out of all kinds of order for both myself and my family, but fundamentally I know that’s irrational.  But acknowledging it and overcoming it are two different things.

So I guess my question is, how do I overcome an irrational fear so that I can introduce a personal lifestyle change that I am positive will benefit myself and my family both immediately and long term?

Got any advice for me?  Let me know, leave a comment below!

Categories: Introspection | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Respond to this Fantastic post!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

